In some countries an increasing number of children are overweigh as a result of eating too much fast food. It is necessary for governments to ban selling this kind of food in schools. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Obesity has become a common problem, even among children, who are used to eating food high in calories and low in nutrition. It is argued that schools should not be allowed to sell such food at all. Even though it seems that a straightforward ban on fast food at schools is a positive measure, would it solve the problem? On the one hand, fast food has already been proven to be so detrimental to one’s health, that preventing schools from selling it to their pupils is a step in the right direction. The less burgers, pizzas and chips children consume, the better. If school canteens cooked freshly-made healthy dishes, children would definitely eat them. And with time, some of them would get used to eating good food. One the other hand, high consumption of unhealthy food for lunch at school is only a small part of the problem. The main issue is that some people have unhealthy attitudes to food that they transfer to their children. An example of this is obese families where both parents and children clearly do not eat healthily. Even if children could not eat fast food at school but could eat it every morning and evening at home, they would, most likely, still become overweight. In conclusion, banning fast food from school canteens does not seem to be an effective solution. Although it would alleviate the problem, it would not prevent children from eating unhealthy food elsewhere. That is why governments should consider public awareness campaigns that would help people to understand why they need to return to the time-consuming cooking of freshly-made food.