Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Tourism, studies and work opportunities have attracted a huge portion of foreigners coming to a country. As a result, being capable of speaking more than just your mother tongue is more important than ever. In this essay, I would examine the benefits of studying a foreign language is not only for a vacation or an overseas career but also individual reasons as well where it can be helpful in many parts of our life. Firstly, many people are learning a foreign language as it is crucial to travel or work overseas. Due to the development of industry and technology, highly educated employees are now welcomed all over the world. For instance, big companies, such as Apple, Google, Facebook, etc., want to recruit skilled workers even from a different country. Moreover, the modern generation wants to work and settle abroad. Additionally, tourism is a rapidly growing sector which makes overseas travelling is a new trend in modern society. Hence, another lang is essential to enable you to express what you want while travelling abroad. On the other hand, from my perspective, the purposes can also be for entertaining and many will agree to it. To illustrate, during my childhood,Hindi was a lang which I opt-in my studies as a foreign language, but I always failed this subject.Since my childhood to adulthood,I was watching numerous Bollywood Movies, with subtitles. Nevertheless, watching these movies from youth has enabled me to speak and understand Hindi as I got married to an Indian guy where many of his family members are not able to communicate in English nor in French as I was born and brought up in Mauritius and our mother tongue is known as "Creole". Hence, it is vital for those transnational marriages to communicate. To summarize,in my opinion, being multilingual is not only for travelling and working abroad but also for studying and other personal reasons because languages are the key to a better understanding of humanity.