Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In the past century, science has been the most studied subject in universities all around the world. However, In recent years, there has been a gradual shift toward other subjects like art and law, and the effects of this shift are concerning for many countries. The exponential growth of science brake throws in the 21st century has resulted in an enormous change in the quality of our lives. Technology and health care are the two most influenced sections of this growth. However, most of these science branches have got more and more complicated which makes it more difficult to study and work in these fields. On the other hand, other subjects like art and law have not seen much changes over the past decades. Therefore, students prefer to study subjects that are not very complicated to learn and in many cases graduated students in subjects other than science have less difficulty finding a job. The declining number of graduate students in science subjects can cause negative effects on society. Many countries rely on exporting technology equipment rather than oil and gas and many other countries want to become self-sufficient in those technologies. Therefore, they have to train enough students for their projected needs in the future. In other words, the advancement of a society highly depends on the number of researchers and scholars in their academic environment. In conclusion, the ifficulty of studying science subjects in universities has caused a shift in students willing to study these topics and the effects of this change will get worst over time as not enough researchers are available for the technological needs of the society.