Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The era of information technology has revolutionised our lives altogether. As a result, it is dominating our family, social and working life. In my opinion, I consider that the advantages like easy connectivity and update on the latest news are very useful, but a few possible harmful effects ought to be taken into account. Firstly, the most important use of information technology is that it helps people to stay connected. The inventions of mobile phones and the social networking sites have made it so simple to interact with our family members and old friends, who are miles away without the need to travel from one country to the other. Needless to say, Information technology has enabled us to shop online,holiday bookings, pay the bills while sitting at the comfort of our homes. For instance, the modern generation prefers to work from home rather than going to work in offices. Another crucial benefit of information technology is that it makes many life easy work with international companies from abroad. Thus, it is now far easy that one can stay in touch with the latest happenings around the world by using a mobile phone or iPad. Nevertheless, despite the advantages, information technology has brought some drawbacks to human life. Nowadays, people are so obsessed with their social interaction through smartphones that they do have time to spend with families and friends. Furthermore, as per the World Health Organisation report the amount of work burdens and pressures put on workers has resulted to develop the mental issues,depression, loneliness and many more diseases. Hence, the overuse of advancement in technology is associated with a few negatives. To conclude, although the use of information technology may have some basic drawbacks, I strongly believe the benefit that it offers in the form of easy connectivity, accessibility and latest updates far out-numbers the possible negatives.