Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

The trend of the tall vertical building for human settlement has been prominent in almost all of the major cities of the world. However, the traditional way of living in small individual houses in a horizontal way has not completely disappeared. This essay will explain why the vertical way of dwelling is much more beneficial than the idea of creating accommodations in a wider area. To begin with, the global population is dynamic. It is not possible to assume that it will remain static and it will show a decreasing trend. As it is evident that the world's population is skyrocketing and so are their housing demands. To meet those upsurging demands, the important wilderness areas are deteriorating leading to well-known environmental catastrophes. Australia can be taken as an example for illustration where the horizontal type of human settlement is favoured more resulting in the destruction of the huge amount of bushlands every year. Consequently, natural disasters like bushfires and drought hit the country more often. This shows that building individual small houses on vast land surfaces has a serious impact on natural resources. On the other hand, skyscrapers built on small spaces in major cities like Tokyo, Dubai, and many more are much more successful in providing accommodations to a large number of people. In addition, all essential commodities, facilities, and services are mostly concentrated in such areas, This means less need to commute for the people dwelling in such vicinities and consequently less individual carbon footprints. If we take Tokyo as a particular example, it is evident that all the services needed for people are located in a small confined area, so there are more local job opportunities, and residents do not have to travel long distances for jobs or for any other essential services. From the aforementioned notions, it is clear that vertical building is much more advantageous and sustainable as compared to horizontal housing system and clearly, such types of accommodations are the future of mankind.