The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Thesis statement: Disadvantages outweigh advantages

More and more users entrust their private data for large internet organizations to store in data banks. In my opinion, this phenomenon weakens data security, and it brings more significant disadvantages. First of all, some internet companies sell their user’s data to a third party. Because site content on search engines and social media platforms are offered to the customer at no cost, internet service companies can operate their avenue by advertising without charging their customers. For example, Facebook and Google use browsing history to offer many advertisements related to what the users access. It is obvious that these companies do not guarantee to keep the user data private, so the users are prone to receive many disturbed advertisements or annoying phone calls from strangers. In reference to privacy concerns, the widespread access to customer information threatens its security. Some people are not aware of how much data they give away during daily internet use. Consequently, their computers are vulnerable to cyber virus attacks, leading to a cost of computer restoration. Even more, hackers can take advantage of this to steal personal information. In contrast, some opponents say that if their information is saved by internet services, they will automatically refill their data for passwords. That is considerably time-saving and convenient. However, some internet companies fail to protect their data banks. That facilitates for cyber thieves to steal customer financial information, and no one is responsible for this indemnification. Hence, it is critical to limit data sharing on the Internet. To conclude, the marginal benefit of access to personal information is the company’s profit and customer convenience. Nevertheless, this advantage does not outweigh the advantage because users have to deal with cyber viruses and cyber thieves.