Some feel that the effects of advertising are positive for individuals and businesses, while others think they are negative. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Advertising has always been a controversial topic as there are different impacts on both companies and customers. In my opinion, it benefits businesses by gaining more sales but negatively affect buyers. Advertising became popular when TV was a favourite entertainment media. Many businesses took advantages of TV ads to expose their products to the average customers, thus the tactic successfully increased their sales and reputation. Recently, adverts are developed to target specific customers thanks to the Internet, which make them even more effective because there will be a higher chance that they can capture the people who may interest in advertised products. For companies, spending on marketing especially advertising is a must if they want to attract more customers. However, advertising opponents point out many downsides, which impacts the individual. First, it changes buyer behaviours because people may grow a desire for things that they may not need. For example, instead of spending for their basic needs, many eager to buy fancy things to satisfy themselves. Secondly, due to mass production, product prices drop significantly. With the power of marketing, many people are persuaded to buy them. In fact, there is a significant amount of people who live paycheque by paycheque because they want to buy everything that they like. Finally, a long-term effect of this buying habit may terribly impacts on the environment since more material are used to produce but the age of usage is low. To conclude, I believe advertising brings many advantages for businesses while it causes some serious issues for the society because it affects individual behaviours.