Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. What extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that people nowadays reduced their time spent on real interactions because of the modern forms of communication and this has had a detrimental effect on people ’s social lives. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this view for several reasons. Firstly, using social platforms enables people to remove geographical barriers in communication. To be more specific, people now are able to connect with others in many parts of our planet in no time at all. This can help them to get the information faster than their predecessors. As we know, sending messages by posts takes a great deal of time. Therefore, people can keep in touch with others in a quick way. Overseas students, as an example, can keep in touch with their long-distance acquaintances. As a result,they can maintain the bond with each other, which encourages them to overcome the problem of loneliness and homesickness. Secondly, social media allows people to communicate with each other from home during the outbreak of Covid-19. This can help them to reduce the need to meet others in person during a pandemic, thereby decreasing the risk of transmission. Thanks to the achievements gained in the telecommunication industry, people can maintain relationships from the safety and comfort of home. In conclusion, I strongly believe that modern forms of communication has had many benefits on human’s lives because of its time-saving and connecting people from all over the world.