The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assignments over the school year. What do you think of this trend?

Nowadays continuous evaluation throughout the year is being preferred over the conventional exam system. We agree with the current change in fashion and we will discuss a few merits of the aforesaid statement in the below essay. To commence with, Nowadays assessment and grades are the foundation stones of an individual career. Hence, evaluating them on the exam day performance would be rather unfair to the one who could not perform due to any unforeseen circumstances. To illustrate, in a recent incident in India, an engineering undergraduate failed in his graduation because he was not able to perform well in the semester exams since he was not keeping well. However, he was an exemplary performer of his batch as per his teachers. Therefore, marks attained on a single day should not be the deciding factor of one's career. Moreover, the constant analysis of the performance would be beneficial to attain knowledge. It would also encourage to understand the concepts instead of cramming the theory on the last day. Additionally,it also provides a fair chance to everybody who struggles in any particular topic but does well in other areas of the subject. For example, if somebody struggles geometry but able to score in other areas. Thus, assignments throughout the year in mathematics on all topics would help him to cover up for the geometry. To conclude, the year-round evaluation using assignments, activities and so on is beneficial and promote the understanding of the subject rather just theoretical concepts. It makes sure the students for losing marks in case of any mishappenings.