Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

Globalisation brings many great changes to our daily life. Even for grocery shopping, there are more chained supermarkets in many countries. There has been a great controversy on whether the local business would be killed since they are less competitive than expanded supermarkets and bring about death to local communities. To me. I do not agree that closing up local firms means the death of local communities as competition allows them to grow stronger instead. Among all the reasons, probably the most significant one is that those strong competitors encourage the switch of a business model of local business to make a greater profit and resist to obstacles such as great labour costs and increased rental expenses. For example, local brands such as Lao Gan Ma is one of the successful business in which the owners had induced factory-based production and sell them in chain-stores to sustain their profit. The great competition from other chained brands did not hinder their development but instead, forced them to turn into an organised business model. The local community has been rescued as more job opportunities are provided. Never should we overlook the fact that the closure of local firms might due to reasons like poor product quality and untrustworthy production procedures. These include customer trusts and product safety consideration. The overall quality could be improved if only those who pass standard survive. Because of expanded supermarkets, local qualified tea is able to be exported to greater firms is one of the striking examples. Tea business is often village-based, and that means jobs are guaranteed within local communities and hence they can be preserved. To conclude, the rise of great competitors does not necessarily mean the end of local communities. Yet, it helps small firms to be determined to become competitive and allows local communities to survive when jobs are available for them to make a living.