More and more children are accessing the internet unsupervised and at a younger age. This can put sometimes children at risk. What problems do you think parents face when dealing with their children using the internet? How can this problem be solved?

Advancement of the internet has brought some demerits along with its advantageous. It has been observed that young ones are surfing the internet without any supervision due to which they are under potential risk. In order to check the usage of internet, guardians are facing some problems which are discussed in subsequent paragraphs followed by the solution. To begin with, the prominent reason for this problem of unsupervised usage of internet is the dependency of the internet for school curriculum. To explain, in order to finish the homework, pupils may spend long hours under the glare of computer screens to use online resources. Due to this, parents are helpless to stop them as they also want their kids to complete their school assignments. As a consequence, spending long hours can afflict the health of children. Yet another problem for the parents is controlling of his child from the distractions on the world wide web. Since servers are loaded with adult contents like pornography, it becomes impossible for the parents to always have an eye on their loved ones. Not only this, owing to the easy access of such restricted content, tender minds fall in the prey of these unethical websites and thus, waste much of their time. For example, deceiving weblinks such as pop-ups on the website, many a time, direct the user to uncensored content, thereby adversely affecting the minds of the children. Fortunately, this problem can be solved with the assistance of government and school authorities. First of all, It is with the efforts of school teachers that much of the internet related work should be done at the campus only. Moreover, the government should bring policy to plug the holes in the working of world wide web so that restricted content must be blocked. To cite an example, in 2018, Internet Service Providers were compelled by the Indian government to block porn websites. As a result, internet traffic was decreased substantially, as much of internet data was being used on such websites. To encapsulate, parents, these days, find it difficult to supervise their children on using i nternet because of the over-dependency of it. However, this problem can be solved with the joint efforts of school and government by bringing some reforms and laws respectively.