Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people suggest that students should study subjects which will be beneficial in the future instead of their area of interest. Although we believe that there should be a free will of gaining expertise in whatever field an individual wants to. There should be little market research regarding the scope of the domain. We will discuss both aforesaid views below in the essay. To commence with, the majority of the students choose their graduate program to have a better future and professional growth along with handsome salary. Hence, analyzing the in-demand sectors would be highly beneficial for the individual. To illustrate this, we know that data is the new oil and interpreting the data will be the most demanding profession in coming times. Therefore, many of the undergraduates and also working professionals aspiring to work in the data science field, which is also wiser decision seeing the current scenario. Practical decisions are required in today's fast-paced world which guarantees success. However, finalizing subjects solely on the bases of future scope might not give desired results in all the cases because succeeding in any college program required huge academic efforts. An individual's area of interest should also be considered while finalizing any graduate program. For example in India we can see a huge wave of people going for engineering courses but as per the recent study by the leaders in Industry majority of the graduates are not fit for employment and does not have required knowledge. To conclude, while choosing the tertiary education field we should focus on individual aptitude and interest in accordance with the scope of the subjects.