The percentage of overweight children in western countries has increased by 20% in last 20 years. Discuss the causes and effects of disturbing trend.

In the last two decades,young people from some countries tend to have weight over the normal limit. This phenomenon has many causes and negative effects on people and society. Nowadays, with the appearance of the technology which allowed us to stay at home and to communicate or work, people tend to become more sedentary and replace physical activity with online chatting. Although this is a normal evolution this behaviour has many other causes such as the limiting of free time, people work too much and do not have free time for other activity like walking in park or jogging. Another good reason could be the consumption of junk food, this type of food is very preferred by youngsters.In some cases,a very stressful life leads to obesity because many people tend to eat much when they are stressed by something. In addition to this, many side effects appear.A person who is obese could become introverted, the confidence could disappear.Children tend to isolate themselves and consider them different from others.Because our society promotes a type of shape regarding our body, obese children suffer from depression or isolation. Obesity not only affects our behaviour but can affect our health.Many diseases are caused by obesity, such as heart attack, high blood pressure, strokes. Although the way how we look is our responsibility, the government should be more implicated by promoting a healthy way of life with advertising and special programmes for children and parents. To conclude, I believe that this trend of becoming overweigh is very popular and actual.Everyone should be implicated in this fight against obesity because this affects not only our life but our society too.