International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

In recent years, the craze of international tourism has raised drastically. Moreover, even though this trend brings in-flow of wealth in the country, it is also creating a significant threat to the ecosystem. However, since these threats are caused by the actions of humans, they can be brought into control by practising better management techniques. In this essay, we will discuss a few pros and cons of cross-border travelling. Firstly, international travelling provides the opportunity to explore a different culture and learn a different perspective on living. That is to say, while travelling to another nation we try new food, observe a new lifestyle, totally different traditions and we get to learn new things from them. For example, during my visit to China, I explored ancient Chinese art galleries, tried their food which was a completely new experience for me. Furthermore, international travel brings money into the country and hold a substantial role in the growth of the economy. Whenever a tourist visits a country, they spend money on the hotel, travelling, food, shopping and they, therefore, spend their foreign money on the nation's economy. On the other hand, many natural resources get harmed while creating a place attractive to the tourist. In other words, we often do deforestation around the main site to build hotels and restaurants. To illustrate, more than 50% of the deforestation happens at places which are popular for tourism. Also, the travellers ill-treat the destination by throwing the waste abruptly into the water bodies or in the soil and consequently causing harm to the environment as well as to the local inhabitants. Nevertheless, these demerits are predominantly due to the actions of human the government can always control such carelessness by imposing strict law of environmental protection in these locations. To conclude, international tourism should be promoted so as to strengthen the financial condition of the country and enhance cross-cultural learning and its' consequence should be taken care of by the authorities.