These days, a great number of children prefer spending time on computer games rather than sports. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a majority of kids would love to occupy time on digital games instead of doing some active activities. This essay will discuss the reasons for it and whether it is a positive or a negative development. There are a number of reasons why children choose their time to play computer games that replaces the time for doing some sports. The most obvious reason is that computer games are very engaging, as there are different levels for it so it makes kids want to play more and reach their goals. Moreover, they love having a sedentary lifestyle, which is inactive, so that they do not need to spend that much time on wasting physical energy. The other reason for it is also that they do not have the motivation to do sport, this can either lead to that they have not been inspired by anyone, so that they have a lack of incentive. I totally agree that this is a negative development. As I mentioned before about the sedentary lifestyle, this can highly affect children’s posture. Also, it can sometimes cause obesity, which affects children’s health. In addition, spending an excessive amount of time on computer games is bad for kids ’ eyes, and most of them have to wear glasses at a young age. Lastly, not occupying lots of time on computer games can cause kids to lose communication skills, as they just stare at the screen for a long period of time. If they go out and do some sports, they can probably communicate with friends when doing sport as a team, which is a better option. In conclusion, these are the reasons why children would like to occupy time on computer games instead of doing some sports. I also strongly agree that it is a negative development for the kids, because there are so many reasons why it can be the opposite of negative, as this mostly affects their health and interaction at a young age.