Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their countries. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

It is believed by a large number of people that international tourists are making their countries worse. There are several causes behind it and will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. First and foremost, people think that tourism is taking away the traditions and culture of the country and people are getting influenced by the western culture. For instance, Indian girls used to wear sarees but have stopped wearing them and started wearing jeans and t-shirts more. Secondly, huge amounts of natural resources are being exploited just for the sake of tourism. For example in Rajasthan, a large statue was built for tourists and large amounts of marble were used into it that could have been efficiently utilised to build hundreds of peoples homes. Another illustration can be fossil fuels are used to give chopper rides to visitors for leisure purposes that are already depleting at a fast pace. Thirdly, tourists do not care about the environment and litter the surroundings and do not think it as their social responsibility to keep it clean as their home country. Several steps can be taken to change the negative attitude towards toursists. Governments should keep some amount of the money earned from the tourism for reviving the culture and traditions of the country. For example folk and cultural functions can be organised. Furthermore, educational posters should be placed in public places to remind the tourists to keep their environment clean and impose fines wherever necessary. To conclude, though tourism helps in improving the economy of a country, Governments should make a balance between making their citizens and tourists happy. ing their citizens and tourists happy.