It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The local shops face a high number of management challenges while their existence. One possible difficulty is to compete against the major chains installed in or near their location as well as those online-based companies. One main reason is that larger shops have more financial capacity for purchasing supplies in larger quantities, thus, it helps them to considerably negotiate a better price. This leads small businesses to pay a bigger price for the same supplies and consequently, struggle due to a lack of competitiveness since they will have to charge more for the same products. As a result, local communities find it hard to buy from local shops because in many cases, these small businesses are not able to support their costs and this takes them to fail. People from local communities need to drive long distances to purchase basic items. Since small businesses cannot support the competition with bigger stores, they will probably not be able to keep their doors open. This will lead residents of neighbourhoods to find different options to buy groceries or other items as they will not have local shops in their area. Consequently, they will have to rely on big supermarkets or online shops and this can be very inconvenient as they can be far away from where these residents live as well as they can take too long to deliver people's purchasing. One way to improve the lack of local and small shops is to buy there even if items are more expensive. If people decide to support local businesses they will find it easier as these shops will be closer to their houses. Once you help local stores you will also be supporting local families and you will maintain the money spent there in your cities. Since the biggest shops have many stores around the country, once you buy there your money will go to the headquarter which can be located in a different city. Therefore, buying in local and small shops will not only be more convenient but also will keep the wealth in your area. To conclude, big stores and online shops are replacing local shops because they sell products at a better price. However, this is causing people to drive long distances just to do a small purchase. A possible improvement is a local resident to buy in local shops because it is convenient as well as will help maintain the money in their city.