Some people think that children should start at a very early age. But others believe that should not go to school until they are older. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has been said that children should start their formal education as early as possible. Despite the many merits they may deprive of this argument, this essay will prove that the drawbacks are more justifiable by analysing how heavier academic pressure can be in learning at an early age. To begin with, advocates of lowering school entrance age base their arguments largely on the fact that a child’s brain develops at an extraordinarily fast rate during the first five years. In other words, the younger an individual is, the faster it is for them to acquire new knowledge and information. Early education would, hence, maybe offering substantial benefits to these young children because they have been being exposed to a various range of knowledge given their incredible learning capabilities at this stage. Besides, an early to formal learning is expected to enable kids to hone their social skills through constructive activities. This is because group projects act as an incentive for students to interact and emulate each other’s positive qualities such as disciplinary standards, which is very crucial especially in young childhood. However, I am more convinced that the optimal school starting age is after a child’s sixth birthday. Contrary to imprinted belief, pupils could have heavier academic pressure which may result from a new formal subjects namely maths and literacy in the curriculum. This, therefore, would likely trigger a wave of stress and trepidation for the children. If parents push kids toward literacy and maths too early, they would miss out on play-based learning encouraging creativity, problem-solving. For example, children can make up or devise their own stories with Lego even before cultivating writing skills. In highlight, this can undermine the effectiveness of the primary school in the long run. In conclusion, lowering the age for school may prove counter-productive for early childhood. Therefore, children should start school later to gain better educational performance.