Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued whether it is producers and retail outlets or consumers who are responsible for cutting down on the amount of packaging. Although I accept that the duties of manufacturers and distributors in tackling that problem are of vital importance, I still strongly believe that customers should have influential effects on using less packaging. On the one hand, advocates of the latter view lay their arguments based on the fact that producers take an active role in choosing what types of packaging they use. These days, citizens’ awareness of environmental protection enhances significantly, so it would be reasonable for companies to keep updated and adapt to new consuming trends. In particular, with an intention of reducing the packaging amounts or making use of sustainable materials for containers can make a specific brand stand out and have higher competitiveness against others in the market. Furthermore, there is no doubt that if businesses and supermarkets are willing to make changes, this may make considerable differences in the customers’ habits. Having said that, I argue that expecting producers to reduce the amount of packaging voluntarily is impossible. In fact, except for maximizing the profits, a few companies are aware of their social responsibilities in protecting the environment. Therefore, I am more convinced that consumers can serve as a major factor in changing the companies’ policies. To be more specific, the public can provoke the objections to plastic containers or thick packaging through avoiding buying products of a brand. This, hence, will somehow put a massive strain on manufacturers on reducing the amount of packaging or utilizing environmentally-friendly wrappings such as paper if they want to maintain the sales. In conclusion, it is undeniable that manufactures and distributors such as stores and supermarkets should be held accountable for reducing the quantity of packaging, yet I opine that this responsibility should be placed on consumers because of the aforementioned reasons.