Some organizations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many employers are of an opinion that their staffs should wear formal clothes, while other companies evaluate their employees based on productivity not dressing style. Although I see that being well-dressed in a formal way can bring about positive impacts to a person at work, I believe that i ndividual’s performance is equally important. On the one hand, dressing smartly can help employees show their professional image and increase their self-esteem. Formal outfits are usually associated with professionalism and confidence. Needless to say, in jobs that involves a lot of direct communication and interaction with customers such as banks and service businesses, formal dressing is a must as it shows respectfulness to other people. Also, the wearers might benefit from this. Psychologically, being well-dressed has actual impacts on boosting self-confident and make individuals value themselves more, which can help these people work better. This ‘better’ is important, because, at the end of the day, the overall work outcomes of the staffs are what employers care the most, particularly in technology companies and jobs that requires creative. Relates to this pattern, Google might be the most famous example. This company does not have a formal dressing obligations and rules, thus this helps people feel more relax at work and waste much less time and energy. This can directly help their employees increase productivity. In conclusion, employers need to consider their companies’ working environment and policies to decide what type of dressing their staffs need to follow. Personally, I believe people should be allowed to wear as their convenience at work, though with clear rules of what is and what is not appropriated at each companies.