It is pointless making children who lack artistic talent learn painting and drawing in Art classes at school. Instead, they should concentrate on other creative or practical subjects for which they may have more aptitude. To what extent do you agree ot disagree?

In many schools all around the world, students who lack talent in such subjects as Art and Music are persuaded to pay more attention to other subjects. It is generally thought that it makes no sense to make children study something they do not have a natural-born talent for. I personally tend to agree with this point of view. To start with, if you remove untalented students from Art classes, it will give others a great opportunity to improve their skills rapidly. In fact, pupils who lack artistic talent seem to slow down their classmates. That is why encouraging these children to switch subjects would be beneficial to the overall academic performance of the class. Moreover, teachers will be able to give more extra information, not being distracted by underachievers. Therefore, in my personal opinion, this approach is advantageous not only to children but teachers as well. Another point is that students who cannot succeed in non-academic subjects might eventually feel not good enough, miserable and even useless. It can make a considerable impact on a child’s mental health which can lead to experiencing different problems regarding self-esteem. Being self-conscious exerts influence on various aspects of life. It might certainly affect student achievement. For this reason, I believe that forcing students without any artistic abilities to continue studying Art is both cruel and meaningless. As far as I am concerned, there is no point in making pupils who lack artistic talent continue studying non-academic subjects. This approach might harm not only educational achievement but students ’ health. Thus, I am convinced that children should focus on other subjects rather than experiencing failure over and over again.