Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancement of technology has created a transformational change in every part of people's lives; thus, it is increasingly controlling their personal and working life. This essay entirely agrees that the advantage of information technology outweighs its drawback. The greatest benefit of the internet is that it facilitates humans' lives in all aspects of their daily life. It has made it easier to find and share any data that pertain to their interests, which broke all the boundaries that were restricting them from getting valuable information. Not only does it enable people to use data for their own sake, but also saves more time and costs. For example, researchers could distribute surveys and collect data online without going outside looking for volunteers for their studies. Hence, it is clear that individuals can not live without information technology because it has significantly contributed to widespread knowledge over the world. Others opposed to this say that the internet has breached the privacy of people. Information technology has exposed their personal information to third parties such as public authorities, private companies, and hackers. Because most citizens store their data on the cloud servers owned by larger businesses, it might get leaked if there was a technical issue or cyber attack. The Sunday Times recently reported that cyberattacks have been increased for the last ten years because when individuals save their information online, they are more likely to be vulnerable to these strikes. However, I would argue against this perspective because this drawback could be resolved by improving internet security and taking more precautionary measures. To sum up, technological information has a wider scale of impact on individuals' lifestyles. I believe that this type of development is advantageous because it has made their life easy by looking for any pieces of information online at lower cost and time. Hence, its merits exceed its disadvantages.