some people think watching TV is bad for children,while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Television has become an indispensable part of day-to-day life. Although it is thought that spending time watching television is detrimental for children, some people believe this has more advantages in their development. In my opinion, I strongly consider that media has a negative effect in shaping children's behaviour and character and on the long run has damaging side-effects. On the one hand, some people voice that screen time is quite harmful for children, and I agree. In other words, spending a considerable amount of time watching programmes reduces the time that is spent on studies, and as a result, they tend to score low grades in academics. Adolescents, for instance, are glued to television spending hours together, thereby lose interest and struggle to concentrate in their studies. Consequently, they end up with poor academic performance and failing to succeed later in life. Moreover, cartoon and animated series target young children, and eventually affects their health as the time spent outdoors is considerably less. On the other hand, it is believed by some that watching useful programmes has beneficial effects on children. One reason why it is helpful is that it gives them quality leisure time from the highly demanding various subjects. This gives them the chance to take their mind out and enjoy some fun time, and also cultivate their interests by watching suitable series. Another reason is that they could relax at the comfort of their home by watching their favourite shows or scientific programs, rather than venturing out, thereby managing time efficiently. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I completely believe that spending time before the big screen has harmful effects on children's life.