More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, working from home is becoming more popular in many businesses. While I accept that the positive aspects of this trend are varied, its negative implications are by far more significant. On the one hand, allowing employees to work at home can bring about more potential benefits that should be taken into consideration. First of all, it is true that working from home facilitates workers to achieve work -life balance. In particular, people may not waste much time commuting between their workplaces and homes, which means that they will not only have more quality time for their family but they can also avoid being stuck in traffic congestions which leads to stress and fatigue. In addition, with companies implementing such a new trend, it is more economical for their budget. In other words, since businesses do not need to pay for rental spaces and infrastructures such as air-conditioning systems and maintenance costs, they can save a huge amount of money which may be allocated for other profitable projects. On the other hand, I strongly believe that this trend should be regarded as a negative development on account of some reasons below. One of the most serious concerns is that people have to be strictly self-disciplined in order to avoid distraction. To be more specific, it is an irrefutable fact that people are likely to be distracted and disturbed by surrounding things. For instance, instead of constantly concentrating on their tasks, workers seem to be appealed by means of entertainment such as Facebook or games, which can have negative impacts on their productivity and the company’s profits. Besides, demotivation is another issue that employees can face when they work from a distance. Compared to working at offices where they are put under high pressure from their executive leaders and the encouragement from their colleagues, people who work at home have to self-motivate, which can be quite challenging and nearly impossible for most of them. In conclusion, despite several aforementioned benefits, I still hold a firm belief that the companies’ permission for employees to work from a distance appears to be a negative trend as it seriously affects people ’s work productivity.