nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Although today's younger generation is proud to be employed with prestigious corporates, however, many prefer to start their own business or run the family business. This is mainly because of the necessity to be control-free, and also owing to the freedom one has to take decisions accordingly. There are several drawbacks associated with running a local business which will be discussed further. Firstly, the reason why many people turn towards starting their own business is that it gives them a sense of immense freedom and satisfaction. In other words, they are free to adjust the work schedules and cover can be found more easily, and also business objective and target-related decisions can be taken based on the people involved. In a family-owned business, for instance, decisions will be made to benefit the entire family. Secondly, directors and managers who are family members will work harder, be more dedicated, and the work atmosphere will be more relaxed and target-oriented. As a result, the targets will be reached efficiently in fast track and a sense of complete satisfaction might arise. One significant disadvantage of being self-employed is that there will be no access to corporate-subsidised benefits. For example, all the employees of a corporate firm might have a certain percentage of discount for a gym facility, which may be required to be renewed every year or so, and in fact, some offers have coverage for the whole family. Another negative point to consider is that in a family-owned business there is a chance for the ideas to become stale and fresh-perspectives might be difficult to find. These two points may be overcome if one chooses to work in a corporate environment. In conclusion, a self-owned business might not have the lucrative corporate offers and other attractive deals that the corporates can afford to offer to their employees but it does give them a sense of self-satisfaction.