Some people prefer to provide help and support directly to those in the local community who need it. Others, however prefer to give money to national and international charitable organizations. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Charitable deeds are indeed precious thus, goes a long way in meeting the needs of the less privileged. There are arguments on whether to donate funds to charitable bodies or to help offer support directly to people in need. This essay will analyze both views and give a concluding opinion. On the one hand, those who support donating funds to charitable organizations believe that these organizations have a broader view of the many societies in need. They understand that these bodies are able to reach out to many communities at the same time. This is because they have enough manpower to serve the various communities they tend to care for. Also, these organizations have enough funds to cater for their complex multiple needs. It is due to donations made by different people that sum up to huge amounts of money that can meet with the dire needs all at once. For example, Smile foundation, a non governmental organization located in Lagos, Nigeria reported that they raised a total amount of 200 million naira which supported the education, care for the elderly and the provision of foodstuffs for the less privileged in Lagos state, Nigeria after identifying the major needs to be met. On the other hand, perhaps supporters of helping local communities directly may claim that they have a genuine sense of fulfillment which might be due to their involvement in the entire process of rendering support. Also, they may refer to the respect and love that earn from helping their immediate community. In addition, this can eliminate every chance of corruption. In conclusion, donating to non profit organizations will serve more societies and tend to huge needs of societies while, helping local communities one on one will give a sense of satisfaction, respect and corruption free service. I believe that both systems have there benefits and none should be ruled out, understanding that both are ways of offering support to the needy.