It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this discussion. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is often stated that children and youth need to be taught important lessons at a young age, such as the difference between what is right and what is wrong. I believe that punishment is an important part of teaching this lesson, so long as it is not corporal. Firstly, humans are not born with any knowledge of laws, rules, and other standards seen in society. People learn good behaviour through their parents, school, and by observing those around them. Secondly, it can be said that children who grow up in a troubled home are more likely to cause issues in the classroom and even grow up to be a burden on the legal system. Example, this is evidence of what can happen when a parent does not take responsibility for the actions of their offspring. With proper use of punishment, kids can better understand what acceptable behaviour is and how to apply it to their lives. Although correcting mistakes through constructive means is valuable, under no circumstances should physical punishment be used. Hitting a child is unacceptable and even can be considered abusive. Using violence will only teach that violence is an effective way to solve problems. Some options that can be considered include taking away electronic devices, not allowing junk food, or even getting them to write a letter of why their actions were wrong. If the misbehaviour involves another party, an apology must be part of the response. In conclusion, non-violent forms of corrective actions can be a valuable mechanism to teach a kid the differences between right and wrong. Punishment, when used in an ideal way, can result in adults that are a more cohesive part of the community.