Some people use the Internet to search for solutions to their medical problems. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your own opinion and examples from your experience.

Some individuals are of the opinion that the Internet is a reliable source to find out remedies for medical conditions. I do not consider that people should take help of the Internet for medical treatment, yet I would say that the internet does play a minor role to provide cures for certain illnesses. To begin with, there are negative aspects in depending upon the Internet for medical treatment because the information we discover is a general solution for the disease, not specific to the patient's health problem. This means that the medication would prove wrong for the patient. Hence, it would deteriorate the patient's health instead of improving it. For example, a group of researchers found that people who relied only upon the Internet for taking medicines for ulcers, asthma or coronary disease suffered for a long time leading to serious complications. Admittedly, it may appear right that there are benefits of relying upon the Internet for medical purpose as it provides correct remedies for minor medical issues. It is found that the public receives correct herbal remedies for fever and cold. Consequently, they are cured successfully at home and without spending money. For instance, a study revealed that 75% people who seek natural treatment solution from the Internet improved their health drastically, without the need of consulting with the doctor. To conclude, I do not support that society should look for cures for medical care from the Internet, in spite that it seems that the Internet has some advantages for certain illnesses.