Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is a common belief that all secondary education students need to study the courses of their own interest. On the contrary, others believe that scholars have to take the program, including subjects related to science and technology. This essay will discuss both views and will provide an opinion on this matter. Many people advocate the view that one should only study whatever he / she is the most interested in. For example, they believe that the most paramount and history-changing discoveries in all spheres have been made by the individuals, truly passionate about their field of studies, thus making a tremendous contribution in science, physics, art, humanitarian studies and medicine. Being sincerely in love with what one is doing is the strongest boost and driver of human-kind development, as opposed to being forced to study what one does not like. On the contrary, opponents claim that young generation needs to acquire knowledge in science and technology, as it promotes the years of research in something, which can be of good use in the future to the public. For example, studying in a medical school and extensive research made the mass vaccinations available for the population of the Earth in the twentieth century, resulting in the extinction of such pandemics as polio and measles. Furthermore, studying and focusing on more useful subjects creates the dedication to contribute to increasing the overall quality of life. For example, technology students are the ones, inventing the machinery for people with various physical disabilities. Undoubtedly, there exist strong arguments of both sides of this debate, nevertheless, I lean towards believing that student should be able to choose their future path by exploring whatever is of the higher interest to them.