Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In today's world, there are a lot of discussions on the topic of subjects which university students should choose for their degree. Firstly, this essay will analyse why it is important for people to learn what they are fond of and, secondly, it will tell us about why it should be obligatory for an alumnus to learn only useful for future subjects. On the one hand, it might be more beneficial to allow school graduates to study what they actually like since it will motivate them to devote more time to research. This is because when people are immersed in the educational process which they have chosen by themselves due to their preferences they are likely to desire to learn more. As a result, highly-motivated learners are likely to perform better and have outstanding final results. For instance, one research has shown that graduates of Shevchenko University in Ukraine who had a chance to study what they enjoy had on average 98% in their exams. On the other hand, students should have a limited range of allowed subjects in order to focus their education on their degree to make their knowledge more specific and useful for the future. Therefore, alumnus might be forced to choose 1 obligatory science course, such as math or physics, and something related to technologies and computing. As a result, they are likely to have more skills that will be valuable for their career and future employers. For instance, in the majority of UK universities,math has become a compulsory lesson and research has shown that graduates have begun to receive more job offers when finished math course. To conclude, both approaches have benefits that can impact people's life and career. If students aren't forced to choose obligatory lessons, they might be more motivated to study while if they aren't allowed to make a choice they are likely to receive more useful knowledge that will increase their opportunities related to work.