Many people today prefer to watch film or TV shows alone at home instead of watching with other people. What are the disadvantages and advantages of this development?

We live in an age where there is a huge content of entertainment available over the television. Many of us prefer to watch it in solace rather than watching it with our friends or family members. This can be both useful as well as have a flip side. The following essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of the argument. Firstly, some TV series may attract young members of a family, while the same might bore the elders in the family. One can watch a movie or a TV series of his own choice when viewing it alone. In this way, people can watch the content which they want to. For eg: in my family, my grandparents prefer watching historical and cultural shows whereas I prefer reality shows. As we both watch our own choice of content, it ensures that we are enjoying and satisfying ourselves. On the contrary, watching TV shows alone widens the communication gap between family members or friends. As everyone is engrossed in their own individual screen, there is very less talk amongst family members which eventually leads to being strangers in the same family. An experiment conducted by Mumbai university has proved that the effects of this was devastating. People tend to lose the ability to express themselves whenever required and thus end up suffering to the core. To conclude, viewing of television shows alone at home instead of watching it with friends or family members has its own merits as well as demerits.