In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development in your opinion? To what extent do you support this development?

In this contemporary epoch, the technological boom coupled with the power of the internet has made it possible to do innumerate activities right from your home on the click of a button. The advocates of this trend believe that there are enormous benefits for us humans from this development while their counterparts argue that the internet has a lot of detrimental effects. This is a complicated topic to draw a conclusion about whether it is a positive or negative development. However, in the essay,I will share my opinions on why I feel this is one of the biggest blessings for mankind. Firstly, the internet has been a prime contributor that has made it possible for people to interact with each other from any corner of the world. Take, for example, many large organizations were able to operate smoothly during the COVID days only because the internet made it possible for employees to work from home. In addition to this, many employees did not lose their job and could provide for their families even in these hard times. Indeed, the internet has served as a blessing for these corporates and staff. Secondly, now it has become very easy to hire and work with talented people worldwide and the need for office spaces has reduced considerably. For instance, many of the large companies like Gojek do not own workspaces, rather the employees work from their homes at a time convenient for them. Moreover, this helps the employees to have a good work-life balance and improve their happiness quotient. On the other hand, the major concern is that people are being less social as every day passes. It is not possible to compare the power of a handshake with a "hi" in an online meeting and this indeed impacts the strength of the bond between people. To exemplify, I have observed that people who are joining organizations during the COVID days find it a tedious task to get even the basics clear using online channels. In conclusion, even though the Internet has been demolishing the need for a face-to-face contact leading to social alienation, I firmly hold the belief that the numerous benefits it provides undeniably outweigh the negatives. The ability to reach out to people across the globe and make the best use of global talent from their homes are the key instances of the positive developments of the internet.