Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more houses. Should these new homes be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside? What is your opinion?

In today’s world, countries face exponential population growth, leading to an increase in demand for housing facilities to accommodate people. It is a highly debated issue of whether new development should be undertaken in existing cities or outlying areas. In my opinion, new housing developments should be undertaken on the outskirts of cities as such construction would be futuristic and beneficial for individual growth. Primarily, houses built on the outskirts of cities have the advantage of openness. People, mostly children, would need huge open areas for recreational activities and playtime. Megacities like New York have limited open areas near apartments or houses where they can breathe fresh air and enjoy outdoor games. This facility will only be possible in suburbs where lots of empty spaces to build such facilities exist. It is evident therefore that residential complexes should be constructed in suburbs for the benefit of individuals and communities. Furthermore, development in the countryside would be futuristic as well. This means that the government and builders can construct residences and build commercial spaces when required for urban expansion. As it is, cities are too clogged to handle new developments, be they residential or commercial. People who move to Toronto would prefer to live a little further from downtown,owing to the potential of an escalation in real estate rates in the suburbs.Authorities should look toward the development of the countryside for the purpose of managing the accommodation related problems of a nation increasing population. To summarize, living in the countryside is essential for individual growth as well as for the future development of a nation. Thus, it is clear that new homes should be built on the outskirts of cities.