In many families today, both parents work. Are there more advantages when a mother works than disadvantages?

The society has undergone a major transformation, and one of the positive changes is that the concept of a working woman is now acceptable in many countries. However, while many people believe that the absence of the mother traumatizes children, I feel that the upsides of having both parents working are far greater. On the one hand, I concede that when a mother is away at work, it is a stressful experience for her child. This is especially true in the case of infants and toddlers. The transition from being under the loving care of the mother to being supervised by caretakers or nannies is often stressful for them. Moreover, hiring caretakers for children is very costly. A recent study outlines that in many cities in the USA, the monthly fee of a daycare centre equals the salary of one parent. On the other hand, despite the obvious drawbacks, there are various benefits to this trend. Firstly, in my opinion, it makes children independent. The children learn to do household chores, which is an important life skill. Additionally, a recent study illustrated that children of working parents could be better managers. Moreover, as they watch their parents growing in their career, they realize that working can be rewarding. Finally, when both the husband and the wife work, their family will have financial security. Even if one parent loses a job, the financial security of the household is maintained. Not only does this lower the financial strain on couples, but it also provides a secured environment for children. More mothers are, therefore, choosing to work. To conclude, although the children of working moms find it difficult to cope with the separation from their mothers, I feel that a working woman provides financial security to the family. Therefore, in my opinion, there are more advantages when a mother works than disadvantages.