In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a house with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, in western countries it is increasingly popular that youngsters choose to live alone or live with someone when they finish secondary school. In this essay,I will discuss both the beneficials outcomes including the drawbacks if a young individual lives independently. To start with, freedom is the main reason why young people prefer to leave after they graduated from high school and it will leave them away from their parents. It is very common for youngsters to seek freedom, sometimes looking for freedom can lead them to harm. For instance, five years ago, my brother decided to live in a dormitory when he was studying at university. With this, he met his friends that led him to do an improper activity such as using illegal drugs. In consequence, he wasn't able to finish his study as it was too late for my parents to save him from using drugs. Therefore, living alone is not a good option if a young person doesn’t have concrete guidance from parents. On the other hand, I strongly believe that living alone will prepare adolescents to mature physically and mentally. We all know that it is quite common these days that students support themselves for their studies. Take responsibility as an example. When youngsters live alone, it is very essential for them to adapt to the environment. They will need to manage their money wisely as their parents are not around them anymore. Furthermore, they need to share obligations with their housemates such as paying the rent, bills and household chores. As a result, adolescents will grow up being accountable people and would highly likely help them prepare for the future. In conclusion, teenagers who decided to leave their parents because they want to live alone or with someone are becoming popular. Even though there are various disadvantages, it is, in fact, the chance for them to grow responsible that leads them to their decision. In my opinion, living independently will contribute positively to our youngsters nowadays if guidance from parents will still be present.