Social media is becoming increasingly popular among st all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the era of globalization, the invention of the internet has revolutionized human interaction by introducing various social websites which are increasingly popular among all ages. In my opinion, there are positive and negative factors in using social websites which will be discussed in the essays. The positive sides, the main advantages of using social media is convenient communication between individuals. In other words, the world is becoming smaller as people residing in different continents can interact and see others by overcoming great distances through the various social media applications available on the Internet. For example, during four years stay in Bandung located in West Java, I managed to interact with my family in Jakarta almost daily by using Facebook. It is obvious that social networking on the web is bringing people closer and distances would not matter in today's modern world. The negative sides, the main disadvantages of using social media is personal security. In other words, information personal about a person's location, family details, his interests can be extracted by manipulating social media accounts. For example, internet banking frauds are on the rise due to manipulation of the personal data available on social media. However, this threat can be overcome by restricting limited personal data sharing on social networks, which can enable us to make use of this facility without any imperil to our privacy and confidentiality. In conclusion, I consider that the chief advantage of social media by ensuring convenient and easily accessible communication far outweigh the easily manageable few drawbacks.