Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be only allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt academy play a crucial in educating society. However, while some believe that this expression should be geared exclusively towards subjects that may be of practical use in the future, I would agree with those who argue that one's choice of degree should lie with the student. Firstly, it is vital that academy equip our workforce with scientists, engineers and other professionals that enable our society to progress. This is because a country without such experts is a country without the means to plan, create or maintain the essential features of modern life. For instance, if we did not have university-educated engineers, we would not enjoy such public transport facilities and infrastructures as subway, trams and bridges. The argument goes that if an undergraduate is allowed to choose what they want to study, then there will be a shortage of these important workers. However, I believe that allowing the undergraduate to study is the only way to acquire motivated, passionate, and thus competent professionals. The reason for this is that free choice provides people with a sense of autonomy, and research has shown that autonomy is a necessary catalyst for drive and enthusiasm. As a result, undergraduate has the imputes to master their subjects rather than merely aim for good enough. Conversely, if academy force undergraduate into one category of study, then the drive for mastery that would have come with pursuing their passions will disappear. In conclusion, although it is the critical importance of academy continue to supply society with professionals in the fields of technology and science, I feel that it should be the student's choice to do so for the reason that this gives them the motivation to excel in their work.