Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that environmental problems can only be solved by governments and big corporations because there is nothing that individuals can do to deal with them. In my opinion, I do not completely agree with the above opinion because although the significant contribution of governments and large companies are undeniable, that of individuals is also indispensable. On the one hand, it is true that to deal with issues related to the environment, the involvement of governments and big companies plays a crucial role. First, with a good financial situation, governments and large organizations rather than individuals are the main subjects being able to invest a large amount of money in research, tests, or high-tech equipment to study and analyze environmental problems. Not to mention, the authorities and large corporations can do better than individuals in terms of gathering a large number of scientists and talented people who can figure out the best solutions for the existing problems. However, on the other hand, I believe that everybody can contribute to environmental protection for several reasons. First of all, although laws or regulations are imposed by the governments, the citizens are people who carry them out. Therefore, if the citizens do not adhere to the rules related to environmental protection, the environment will still be destroyed. Secondly, the ecosystem is the mutual home of everybody in the world, meaning that every activity of people can somehow have an effect on it. Thus, if each individual is aware of the importance of protecting the ecosystem and improves it, that would prevent it from being damaged. In conclusion, personally, I believe that protecting the environment can be done not only by governments or large companies but also by the involvement of everybody in society.