Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subject like Science and Technology are more important that History. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It has been an ongoing conversation where we weigh the importance of learning about ancient people and happenings over that of Science and Technology. I am of the opinion that the former is more important than the latter. This essay will discuss both sides of the coin. Firstly, the value of learning History cannot be gainsaid. It is a popular saying that you cannot become someone of any import if you do not know about your past and the people that went ahead of you. This is the advantage of learning History. It also has various aspects and you can learn about great scientists of old which encourages anyone on the path of development. You also get to learn about your roots, cultural reasons why you do the things you do, great folks you share the same similarities with. This is particularly great for black societies. On the other hand, the scientific and technological space runs the world as we know it. As a result, science and technology have brought about great strides in agriculture, healthcare and numerous other sectors. Despite all the advancements, there is still so much more to discover. This is why I think these subjects trumps the other. Learning allows students to be more imaginative and explore more. Change is the only constant thing in life and consequently, scientists and technologists are the forerunners of that change. Finally, I believe learning Science and Technology is more important than learning about our past. As detailed above, both subjects have their upsides. To live in an ever-changing world is to pay more attention to one over the other.