Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people harbour a belief that music is an effective means of bridging the gap between people from different cultural backgrounds and generations. I am inclined to stand with the proponents. To begin with, one of the main argument in its favour is that music has an extraordinary ability to bring a wide range of feeling to the listeners such as sadness, anger and happiness regardless of nationalities. Although some lyrics might be incomprehensible due to the language barrier, its melody and music can let people engage in that emotion without understanding. For instance, many Taiwanese people fall in love with Korean pop music and TV dramas' original soundtracks or Japanese people touched while listening to peace of music written by American musicians. This indicates that music is a universal language crossing the language and cultural barrier. On the other hand, it is true that music is a common tool for people to understand each other better irrespective of their age. There is a growing tendency that nowadays, millennials assume that several songs released many years ago can bring them into the 1980s with nostalgic style, and likewise,modern music genres such as hip-hop, rap and heavy metal music are also becoming increasingly popular among older people. For instance, it is prevalent to see a family with different generations gathering in the karaoke room, singing and dancing to the same song sharing much joy at that moment. In conclusion, music is a vital role in the part of people's lives and shorten the distances between different countries and generation gaps.