A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

This essay aims to discuss whether old-fashion values such as kindness, honesty have lost value today and if they had been replaced with social status and material possession. I am inclined to believe that is true, which will be presented throughout the examples and arguments. Firstly, with the easier access of goods from all over the world, material possession has become more intriguing for everybody. Furthermore, this admiration has increased even more with the growing popularity of mass social media, where everyone seems to post pictures about the wealth which can be observed through the expensive cars, holidays, clothing, etc. Secondly, the comfort of materialism has led to a negative outcome of the society, most evidently on the degradation of the importance of the values. Unlike today, people used to rely on other people in a tough situation, while today the human approach has been replaced with the item. Consequently, more and more people are suffering from depression, anxiety. In addition, people today are not being able anymore to distinguish a good person from a bad, mostly because the second one has more wealth, and therefore it guarantees a better social status. All in all, it is observable that traditional values are losing importance today, namely due to mass consumption and the accessibility of the items. As evidence the new material imaginary world has been established, which has more disadvantages on human beings than benefits. Furthermore, this trend does not seem to decrease, but it is something that will worsen with the upcoming years, decades, and generations.