Today people are living in a throwaway society where they use things for a short time only and then throw them away. What are the causes of this and what problems can it lead to?

In the course of several thousands of years the human race underwent several stages of transformation to become the modern man that we now see. But, as time passes by and we become more "advanced&quot;, are we consuming more and more without thinking of the consequences? And by doing so, are we harming our ecosystem? This essay attempts to find the answers to these questions. To begin with, the major cause of consumerism is the rapid advancement of technology which encourages people to buy more products. For instance, rapidly changing new features of cell phones make them appealing to a wider crowd, compelling them to change their phones for these better models. Furthermore, changing lifestyle due to globalization, with increasing influence of social media in daily life is another cause. Most people are not satisfied with what they have and are on a constant search for more. Moreover, unlike in the past, people have better access to the global market. As a result, they are compelled to constantly update themselves in order to make them look good on a social media platform. A simple example would be ordering a new dress for a wedding just to post a picture with it on Facebook, when dozens of dresses which were worn just once are lying at the bottom of the cupboard. Consequently, this careless attitude has overwhelming impact not only on climate change but alsoon the society. Admittedly, most of these use and throw products are made up of plastics and other non-biodegradable materials. Increased, improper disposal of these products adds to the deleterious effects of global warming.The recent surge in wild fires across the world validates this. Additionally, this constant need to update and impress has made man selfish and shallow. They are blinded by greed; unable to find pleasure or satisfaction in simple things or deeds. To clarify, people would rather use an opportunity to flaunt their wealth than be compassionate to their fellowmen. To summarize, constant updates in technology and social media frenzy has led man to a careless use and throw behavior, completely disregarding the safety and wellbeing of the earth and others around him.