Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some that students should be allowed to freely choose what they like to do for their studies in university, while there are others who believe it is best to only allow them to study subjects that will benefit them in the future. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives before explaining why I believe learners should have the right to choose their own educational path. On the one hand, when you look at the overall rate of successful people, it is apparent that most have studied those "useful" subjects such as mathematics, science, engineering, and other similar categories. Generally speaking, the financial aspects of studying in those fields are often more positive than for someone studying art and fashion. As an example, a doctor could earn thousands in a year, whereas a musician might struggle for months, trying to just find a suitable job around their passion. Obviously, as a result, the said doctor will eventually have a stronger, more stable savings account compared to the musician, and could use that in beneficial ways. On the other hand, if we ignore the succession rate and focus more on the mental part of it, there are studies done on the rate of depression globally that show the majority of people who experience the highest percentage of this mental illness are individuals who study heavy subjects in universities and pursue a career in those. It can be said that most people who prefer studying their likings take part in artsy subjects. Although artistic people are expected to be more emotionally vulnerable, and more likely to get depressed, some research shows that due to the strong connection they have to what they do, it is usually the other way around. That being said, in order to maintain a healthy life and mentality, it is often advised to follow the path that calls your name. In this essay, we discussed both arguments regarding the freedom to choose what subjects to study in university. In conclusion, I believe it is most essential for a learner to have passion for what they learn. Therefore, I think they should be allowed to choose how they prefer their path of studies go, and regardless of the financial issues, mental health should always be prioritised. I am of the belief that following your favourite subjects can play a vital role in keeping your mind stable