Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes(for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children ) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the argument for quality education, an aspect that is commonly brought up is theory versus practical teachings. Many individuals believe students should be forced to participate in volunteerism without pay. I wholeheartedly agree with this view and will be discussing why in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, the importance of volunteering cannot be understated. Although money is an important factor, more of us need to know that getting money is not the goal in many real-life dealings. There are a plethora of reasons why youngsters should be volunteers. One clear example is how it helps to build empathy. Many teenagers today live in a world of their own, they do not care for the lives of and the realities of others. Community service exposes them to a whole new world. Putting yourself in the shoes of other people builds your empathy. Additionally, a society filled with empathic adults results in human-centred solutions springing up left, right and centre. Solutions to society's long-standing problems, simply because more people have an understanding. Furthermore, being a volunteer gives you practical experiences that are not obtainable in the four walls of a classroom. The kids develop critical thinking, problem-solving and interpersonal skills that are transferable to various works of life. It gives them an edge when starting their careers that others who did not get that kind of exposure do not have. The value of such learnings cannot be quantified in monetary terms. My life and career progression is an example of the benefits of volunteerism. In conclusion, more and more institutions need to incorporate community service programs into their curriculum, particularly in secondary schools. There are far too many benefits to it for it to be overlooked just because it typically offers little or no remuneration. The kids will be thankful for it in the future and even become advocates for it.