Today some people believe that it is acceptable to use physical force to discipline children, but others feel it is completely unacceptable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Physical force is accepted by a growing number of people to be an effective means of discipline. Others, however, believe that taking such punishment is acceptable by no means. In my opinion,as corporal punishment can disturb children mentally,it should not be used. On the one hand,a large number of parent tend to adopt harsh discipline methods, such as physical punishment. This kind of punishment is believed to be useful in teaching children right from wrong since it has an immediate deterrent effect.Take a disobedient child who has received corporal punishment as an example,as this child is unable to stand such harsh pain,she or he is likely to cease her or his disobedience behaviour. Therefore advocates of this view think that unless parent use corporal force, children will tend to continue their negative behaviours. On the other hand, I think the negative impacts of physical force is undeniable,and that’s why many people consider it an unacceptable task. From the psychological point of view,it is not only useless but also harmful to children ’s mental health,so it is rendered obsolete in some areas. To clarify more, some children receiving physical punishment are in danger of repeating their anti-social behaviours. In other words,as children observe their parents’ aggression, they tend to imitate such aggressive actions. This also can disturb their mental health because the tendency of disturbing others will become a part of their personality. As a result, there is a rising debate about banning this kind of punishment. In conclusion,even though physical punishment can help parents,I believe that it should not be used due to its negative impacts on children ’s mind.