Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In contemporary society, many individuals prefer to work for themselves rather than being employee in an organization or corporation. From my perspective, this phenomenon deserves an in-depth discussion in the following, and the detrimental impact will be drawn. To begin with, the front and centre factor to cause people to tend to embark their own company is liberty and freedom. It seems that people who work for themselves can feel more free to set up flexible working hours and even can decide their dress code without the rules or regulations of companies. Moreover, the reasons for self-employment can be creative thoughts and capability to work independently without any supervisiors. Some talented designers implement to bring their expertise into full play and gain revenues. Based on these compelling evidence, there is growing tendency that majority of human advocate to be self-workers. On the other hand, there are some downsides of labouring yourself which deserve people to probe profoundly. Some companies provide several well-being subsidies such as medical insurance, paid leaves, sick leaves and pension schemes, which are not available for the self-employed. Besides the aforementioned, to be an individual workers have a big influence on mental health with stress and anxiety. According to the latest official statistics conducted by Labour Institution in Taiwan, the number of self-employed with stress skyrocketed by 40% between 2019 and 2020 more than work as full-time job.: In conclusion, despite the fact that self-workers enjoy the felxibility of working hours and develop their creative idea for their own corporations; however, its negative outcomes for their health care must not be ignored.