Many people today find it difficult to balance the demands of their work and personal life. What are the causes of this situation, and what can individuals and employers do to reduce the problem? You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Finding a compromise between one’s job and one’s private life is probably harder than ever these days, especially if one has a family. There are several reasons for this, but also a number of measures we can take. Possibly the major factor is the increased workload that many people have to deal with. The predominance of the service sector means that most people work in office-related jobs, and they find that employers expect them to stay longer or be available outside traditional office hours. On top of this, the rise of communication tools – ranging from smartphones to laptops and teleconferencing equipment – has accelerated the trend, because people are always contactable. Furthermore, the economic recession has made the labour market increasingly competitive, and so workers are under pressure to cooperate in this process, fearing loss of promotion or even redundancy if they resist. However, there are various steps that can be taken to lessen the problem. Firstly, individuals should clarify with their employer the times when they expect to be free of work and out of contact, thus ensuring private time. Another positive development would be for employers to allow more flexible working hours, so that staff can take time off for important family events during the working day. Lastly, employers could offer advice and coaching to staff in areas such as time management, stress control and relaxation techniques. This would help to reduce the anxiety that stems from heavy workloads and long hours. In summary, we can say that technology and economics are creating this situation, but also that employees and companies together can reduce the impact.