With the development of technology and science, some people believe that there is no great value of artists such as musicians and painters. What are the things artists can do but the scientist cannot? Why should we encourage the art area?

By and large, it is evident that human beings make huge progress due to new discoveries from scientific fields and advances in technology. While many argue that artists do not make any great contributions to society, this argument is questioned by some people. This essay will explore some aspects that only artists can create and the reasons why we should support the arts. First of all, it is unarguable that the arts are fundamental to our humanity. To clarify, each nation has its own history which has only transferred to their descendants through languages, folksongs and cave paintings. For this reason, artworks obviously are considered to be vital to maintain cultural values and traditions, which technology and science are unable to do the same. For instance, in order to have a deep understanding of the origin of Thai culture, there is no alternative but to learn from the past history which was written in chronicles or portrayed as ancient paintings in old temples or heritage buildings. Undoubtedly, there are hundreds of reasons why the arts should be supported and protected. Apart from cultural preservation aspects, they are also essential to improve individual well-being. What I mean by this is they ennoble and inspire human by fostering creativity, goodness and beauty of life. Take philosophy books as an example, they motivate mankind to express their human values such as compassion and peace which leads to the unity of society. I believe that our world would become chaotic and disorderly if there was no art refining and elevating our mind. To conclude, while some people consider the arts to be worthless, I strongly object to this viewpoint. Not only do they help to maintain and protect cultures which is the crucial foundation of humanity, but also enhance human values and improve human health.