Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger.  Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop now. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

These days, every country want to have a growing economy as it is believed by some persons to as the only way to solve world poverty. However, others have the view that economic growth is causing us more harm than good as it destroys the environment. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion on this matter. Firstly, it has been observed that poor nations are countries with a sick economy. When the economy is not doing well, it results in a lack of money in circulation. There will be a limited amount of jobs which will consequently lead to poverty and death. For example, the main reason why people emigrate from third world countries to the so-called developed countries is that they want a better life for themselves and their families. They want a life where there will always be enough money to put food on the table and an opportunity to achieve their dreams. This can only happen in a country with a booming economy. Secondly, economies are growing at the expense of the environment. When economic growth is calculated, the resources that are taken from nature and how fast nature will regenerate them are not usually put into perspective. But the reality is that we are not producing goods in a sustainable way. For instance, how long will it take the planet earth to replace the trees, crude oil, gold, coal etc. we take from her? In addition, economic growth will also lead to the production of greenhouse gases and consequently global warming. In conclusion, we need a thriving economy to fight the war against poverty but at the current rate of consuming the resources of the earth, it will no longer be able to meet up with our demand. My view is that we need to fight poverty by investing in our economy in a more sustainable way. If this is not done, we will either die of hunger or of our environment.