Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities or towns, it leaves only old people in the countryside. What are the problems of this issue? What can be done to solve this problem?

Deciding between living in a city or in the country is a decision that everyone has to make. The lifestyle in big cities has been attracting youngsters, rising the elderly population in the small cities. In this essay, I will discuss the problems of this increase and propose two solutions to encourage young people to stay in the countryside. Firstly, a serious decrease in the workforce has happened. The reason for this is because old people retire and companies do not have workers available there to replace them. To illustrate, small cities in Saskatoon, a Canadian province, have been facing this problem, once their youngsters have been deciding to live in Regina, the province’s capital. To solve this issue, companies have been desperately seeking employees all over the world. As a result, vacancy jobs are taking more time to be occupied and sometimes foreign requires high salaries to move to these remote places. Secondly, psychological and emotional diseases are becoming common among elderly population. This happens because parents and grandparents are missing the young family members and feeling lonely. A sad example of that is Vacarias, a small city in the South of Brazil. A recent research reveals an immense increase in the rate of 60’s committing suicide in Zacarias. Aiming to decelerate this problem, the municipal government started offering more activities in the community’s centres to elderly, helping them to feel less lonely by developing a sense of belonging. In conclusion, the rise in psychological diseases and decrease in labour are 2 problems that should be addressed by the local authorities.